Gital’s Story

This is a post I wish I didn’t have to post, but feel I have no choice.

It’s a heart-rending story of Gital Dodelson, a young woman whose husband refuses to give her a get. With much courage and dignity, Dodelson shared her story with the New York Post. The whole piece is worth reading, but I’m citing the section which really spells out what she is up against:

On my last mission to ask for a get, a month ago, Avrohom said, “I can’t give you a get — how else would I control you?” I think that’s the key to it all. He insists the marriage isn’t over until he says it’s over.

We’ve tried everything — the informal route, negotiations. I’ve asked him myself, my parents have asked his, our camp tries to reason with his camp, but, counting down from the time when he sued for custody in March 2010 and I first asked him for a get, we’ve been shut down for 3¹/₂ years. One proposal his side put forward in January was for me to agree to override the court decision on custody of Aryeh and hand over a payment of $350,000. There’s no way I can afford that.

Nor should you, even if you had the money. Further, you certainly can’t hand your child over to the custody of such an individual.

And then this got my attention:

It’s been an uphill battle trying to appeal to his family — this almost untouchable, powerful rabbinic family. Many rabbis have called on his grandfather, Rabbi Reuven Feinstein, who heads the Yeshiva of Staten Island, to influence his grandson to give a get, but he staunchly supports Avrohom. Prominent rabbis have even called for the dismissal of his father, Yosaif Asher Weiss, as editor for the major Jewish publisher ArtScroll.

Artscroll, one of the largest publishers of Jewish books in English, employs Dodelson’s father-in-law. I checked with some sources in the States, who referred me to the website Set Gital Free. Under the Documents section, one can see a copy of a letter by very prominent rabbis, in which they call on Artscroll to remove the husband’s father and uncle – who actively support Ms. Dodelson’s husband in his malicious behaviour – from their positions in the firm.

For anyone who’d like to take a deeper look into this, you can look here.

I would take things a step further, and say that the consumer has a voice – do we wish to purchase works of Torah from an organization  which, either indirectly or directly, is facilitating an ongoing violation of Torah law and Torah values?

I think not, and I for one, will make my position known to Artscroll, and to bookstores which carry their publications. I encourage you to do the same. (Hattip: CR)

This entry was posted in Divorce, Marriage and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Gital’s Story

  1. Pingback: Got the Get | The Missing Peace

Leave a Reply

